How To Get Your License

Before you can get a license, you must apply for a learner permit at DMV office and take the written test. Make sure you bring:

  • A completed form MV-44

  • Original Social Security Card

  • Proof of Identity

  • Payment for the fees

You must have a total of 6 points in order to take the written test.

For more detail information, please click here

Once you get your learner permit, you must:

  • Obey the Learner Permit restrictions on where and when you may drive

  • Complete a 5-Hour Pre-Liecensing Course or a high school or college Driver Education Course

  • Get an appropriate amount of supervised driving practice

  • IF YOUR ARE UNDER THE AGE OF 18, you MUST wait for at least 6 months from the date you received your learner permit to schedule for your road test

For more detail information, please click here

NO MATTER WHAT AGE YOU ARE, if you are holding a learner permit, you MAY NOT drive unless you are accompanied by a supervising driver at the age of 21 or older who has a valid license to operate the vehicle you are driving.

LEARNER PERMIT HOLDER MAY NOT DRIVE ON:

  • Any street within a park in New York City

  • Any bridges or tunnels under the jurisdiction of the Tri-Borough Bridge and Tunnel Authority

  • Cross County, Hutchinson River, Saw Mill River, or Taconic State Parkways in Westchester County

  • INSIDE DMV ROAD TEST SITE AREAS

For more detail information, please click here

If you are under the age of 18, or are the parent(s) of a driver under the age of 18, it is very important that you understand the Graduated Driver License (GDL) Law and the restrictions on drivers under age 18.

In addition to the Learner Permit restrictions which apply to every permit holder, the Graduated License Law places restrictions on drivers who are under the age of 18 who have a junior learner permit or junior driver license (Class DJ, M). The restrictions depend on:

  • Whether you have a junior permit or a junior driver license

  • Where and when you would be driving in the state of New York

Upstate New York Restrictions:

  • Upstate New York Junior Learner Permit Restrictions: Click Here

  • Upstate New York Junior Driver License Restrictions: Click Here

New York City Restrictions:

  • New York City Junior Learner Permit Restrictions: Click Here

  • New York City Junior Driver License Restrictions: Click Here

NOTE: This restriction does not apply to 17 year old drivers who have completed a State Education Department approved Driver and Traffic Safety Education Course AND submitted to DMV their MV-285 Driver Education Course Completion Certificate. These drivers should receive their Class D (adult license). Any 17-year old drivers with Class D may drive in New York State without any restriction. Click Here for more information

 

Long Island Restrictions (Nassau & Suffolk):

  • Long Island (Nassau & Suffolk) Junior Learner Permit Restrictions: Click Here

  • Long Island (Nassau & Suffolk) Junior Driver License Restrictions: Click Here